A Jeffersonian In East Texas

January 12, 2008

The Fear Factor

Filed under: Uncategorized — ajeffersonian @ 9:16 am

 AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Another older post from the older blog:

Posted by 1jeffersonian at 11/13/2007
The Fear Factor
I had a surprising surge in traffic to this blog, so decided to post a little more often than I have in the past. I went looking for a piece that I read right after the last jail vote, so that I could mention it here, and found the source of the increase in traffic. Scott Henson’s Grits for Breakfast, my favorite blog on this subject, had an entry titled:
Voters who rejected county jails looking for better justice policies.

Thanks for the mention Scott! It is a fine work that you do!

The title about sums it up. Why then are people not saying this in public? Well, a lot of folks are afraid of being branded as being too lenient, or too liberal. A lot of folks, who have seen how the system works, are just plain afraid to say anything negative about it. The common denominator is fear!

I have had people who know me, and know that I write this blog, tell me that they read it, but won’t comment publicly because they are afraid that there could be repercussions. I understand that fear. While it is not the same in scope, it nonetheless reminds me of of Solzhenitsyn, and when I think about it, I get that same sinking feeling I got when I first read “The Gulag Archipelago.” The comparisons or only minor ones, but even the communists had to start somewhere!

Unlike those in the injustice system of the former Soviet Union, we have some degree of choice. We have choices to make, that can make a difference, and can keep our system from becoming the human garbage dump that theirs was!

It is my contention that the reason for the failure of the last jail bond, was the same as the failure of the first, and will continue to be a thorn in the side of the county until something is done about it. It is not just the money, it is the fear of the system.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

